

THE MARYLAND MUNICIPAL LEAGUE

The Association of Cities and Towns

# PRESS RELEASE

Contact: Justin Fiore, 410-295-9100, JustinF@mdmunicipal.org

# The Maryland Municipal League Announces 2025 Legislative Award Recipients

(May 8, 2025) Annapolis, Md. – The <u>Maryland Municipal League</u> (MML), which serves as the collective voice of 161 municipal governments, announced the MML 2025 Legislative Award recipients today. The awards recognize Maryland General Assembly members who went above and beyond in supporting municipal government over the course of the 90-day session.

"The legislative session can often be fast moving and intimidating to the local governments we represent, particularly for our smaller communities. Thanks to the efforts of these legislators, our 161 member governments felt they had a fight in committee and in floor debates this past session," said MML CEO Theresa Kuhns. "We continue to be grateful for your partnership and commitment to strengthening our local government infrastructure and the 2 million Marylanders who call a municipality home."

### 2025 League Champions

This recognition is given to those legislators who monitored numerous legislative issues, worked to protect Maryland's cities and towns, and remained in close contact with both MML members and staff throughout the 2025 General Assembly session.

Senator Cheryl C. Kagan – District 17 Senator Cory V. McCray – District 45 Senator William C. Smith, Jr. – District 20 Delegate Ryan Spiegel – District 17 Delegate Vaughn Stewart – District 19

## 2025 Friends of Municipal Government

This recognition is given to those legislators who strongly and consistently supported municipal government and worked closely with MML on legislation impacting cities and towns throughout the 2025 General Assembly session.

Senator Malcolm Augustine – District 47 Delegate Ben Barnes – District 21 Senator Pamela Beidle – District 32 Senator Mary Beth Carozza – District 38 Delegate Jefferson L. Ghrist – District 36 Senator Guy Guzzone – District 13 Senator Stephen S. Hershey, Jr. – District 36 Senator Mary-Dulany James – District 34 Delegate Steve Johnson – District 34A Delegate Marc Korman – District 16 Delegate Jazz Lewis – District 24 Delegate Robbyn Lewis – District 46 Delegate Jeffrie E. Long, Jr. – District 27B Senator Sara Love – District 16 Senator Johnny Mautz – District 37 Senator Justin Ready – District 5 Delegate C. T. Wilson – District 28 Delegate Greg Wims – District 39

#### # # #

About The Maryland Municipal League:

The Maryland Municipal League (MML) was founded in 1936 and serves as the collective voice of 160 municipal governments and the 2 million Marylanders it represents. A voluntary, non-profit, nonpartisan association controlled and maintained by city and town governments, MML works to strengthen and support municipal government through advocacy and the development of effective leadership. Through its membership in the National League of Cities MML offers legislative representation in Washington, urban research programs, and a national municipal government information exchange. MML is the only statewide organization in Maryland composed solely of municipal officials and devoted to the promotion of all branches of municipal administration.

# # #

#### About The Maryland Municipal League:

The Maryland Municipal League (MML) was founded in 1936 and serves as the collective voice of 160 municipal governments and the 2 million Marylanders it represents. A voluntary, non-profit, nonpartisan association controlled and maintained by city and town governments, MML works to strengthen and support municipal government through advocacy and the development of effective leadership. Through its membership in the National League of Cities MML offers legislative representation in Washington, urban research programs, and a national municipal government information exchange. MML is the only statewide organization in Maryland composed solely of municipal officials and devoted to the promotion of all branches of municipal administration.