

PRESS RELEASE

Contact: Justin Fiore, 410-295-9100, <u>JustinF@mdmunicipal.org</u>

MML 2024-2025 Board of Directors Elected at 75th Annual Summer Conference

Mayor Michael O'Connor of Frederick to Serve as President; Mayor Todd Nock of Pocomoke City is President-Elect

(June 26, 2024) Annapolis, Md. – The Maryland Municipal League (MML), which represents 160 Maryland local governments, has elected its 2024-2025 Board of Directors, with Mayor Michael O'Connor from the City of Frederick as President. The induction was part of the 2024 MML Summer Conference held at the Ocean City Convention Center, with 1500 attendees from a record 123 municipalities having access to 50+ workshops and 300 community stakeholders in the exhibit hall.



"I look forward to building on the outstanding work of my predecessors and sharing Maryland's story through the stories of our great cities, towns, and villages," said President O'Connor. "Extraordinary things are happening throughout the State in each of our communities. We need to share those with the world and with each other, because that's how that's how we will fulfill our potential."

"On the heels of a very successful year and Summer Conference, President O'Connor steps in at an exciting time for the League," said MML CEO Theresa Kuhns. "The first full-time mayor to be president for the League in 44 years, I have the utmost faith in him and his vision for his term."

MML's new slate of Board of Directors are as follows:

President: Mayor Michael O'Connor, Frederick

President-Elect: Mayor Todd Nock,

Immediate Past President: Mayor John Carroll, Galena, ex officio

District Vice Presidents:

District 1 Sputty Cephas, Commissioner, Cambridge

District 2 James Cook, Mayor, Rock Hall District 3 Brandon Scott, Mayor, Baltimore

District 4 Andrzej Marciniak, Commision President, Port Tobacco

District 5 Monique Ashton, Mayor, Rockville

District 6 Wayne Creadick, Councilmember, Myersville
District 7 Kevin Grove, Commissioner, Frostburg
District 8 Howard Long, Mayor, Boonsboro
District 9 Celina Benitez, Mayor, Mount Rainier
District 10 Travis Marion, Mayor, Rising Sun
District 11 Christopher Nevin, Mayor, Hampstead

Members-At-Large: Jud Ashman, Mayor, Gaithersburg

Nathan Brown, Mayor, Brunswick Monica Casanas, Mayor, Colmar Manor

Dia Costello, Mayor, Glen Echo Takisha James, Mayor, Bladensburg Jeannine James, Mayor, La Plata Ken Lord, Mayor Keedysville

Jay Mattingly, Council Vice President, Leonardtown Joseph Solomon, Council President, Hyattsville David Unglesbee, Councilmember, Hampstead

Department Representatives:

City and Town Administrators

William Gardner, Assistant City Manager, College Park

Municipal Attorneys

Elissa Levan, Esquire, Bowie, Westminster, Church Hill, North Beach, Mount Rainier

Municipal Clerks

John Hoatson, Town Manager, Cottage City

Code Enforcement and Zoning

Pamla Bennett, Code Enforcement Officer, New Carrollton

Municipal Parks and Recreation

Carolyn Muller, Director of Rec. & Parks, Gaithersburg

Municipal Police Executives

Michael Spaulding, Police Chief, Sykesville

Municipal Public Works
Lesley Riddle, Director of Public Works, Hyattsville

Emergency Management Officials Kevin Simmons, Emergency Management Director, Annapolis

Ex-Officio Members (Non-Voting):
Cindy Dyballa, Councilmember, Takoma Park (NLC)
Emmett Jordan, Mayor, Greenbelt (NLC)
Denise Mitchell, Mayor Pro Tem, College Park (NLC)
Theresa Kuhns, Chief Executive Officer, Maryland Municipal League

#

About The Maryland Municipal League:

The Maryland Municipal League (MML) was founded in 1936 and serves as the collective voice of 160 municipal governments and the 2 million Marylanders it represents. A voluntary, non-profit, nonpartisan association controlled and maintained by city and town governments, MML works to strengthen and support municipal government through advocacy and the development of effective leadership. Through its membership in the National League of Cities MML offers legislative representation in Washington, urban research programs, and a national municipal government information exchange. MML is the only statewide organization in Maryland composed solely of municipal officials and devoted to the promotion of all branches of municipal administration.